Training and Progression

So it’s been a while since I wrote an actual blog post on here. I am trying to figure out how to migrate my posts to where I want them to be. But that might never happen because we all know how fiddly WordPress can have a tendency to be. 
Things are good at the moment. I am feeling positive about my training and the way in which my directions within Muay Thai are heading. I have only been training a few time these past few weeks. 
With the imminent arrival of my first born child I am a little preoccupied with other things at the moment, like getting my driving test passed, preparing both mentally and physically for his arrival and working a bit more on the site. 
I have now managed to work out how to make pages on the website and have began to post a bit more content for you guys. 
Yesterday was a hell of a session. It was brutal. I had a fight at the weekend and was debating whether I would actually go down to the gym or not to train yesterday because I was still achy from it.
Been the dedicated bastard I am I thought balls to it, I might as well go and get back into the swing of things. Maybe I should have thought about what it was I was realistically getting myself in for. 
The session was quite a tough one, we were working in defending with our left side. Using the teep, jab, left hook, left body kick, left leg kick… Basically anything on the left hand side. It was good fun. I love using my left leg for my kicks. Primarily the back leg kick. People don’t expect it at all during sparring and I can usually land it quite solidly with a lot of success. 
There is a couple of lads fighting up in Edinburgh this weekend and one of the other lads is training for a fight on 16th August in Harrogate so there was a lot of them getting pads with Craig. From the fight at the weekend I am now more motivated than ever to get the weight off so I can think about getting in the ring and fighting Thai. 
So in the exercise one of the partners were sparring, using any of the weapons you might in a normal spar and moving forward. The person defending was mainly on the back leg, defending and moving back while countering and attacking with the left hand side. By the end of that exercise because we were swapping partners in between and both having a go at it it was nearly the end of the session. 
For fitness we did something that we have never done before but it was something that challenged you and pushed you. Paired up again, we would do a combination with your hands or legs, one two hook right kick and then one two hook two kicks and then one two hook three kicks and alternating between your partner and you and then once you did that you would do 10 burpees and that was timed so would just keep going until the timer ended. 
Then it was a different combination with a different exercise and this went on for about 10 minutes. At the end of it, I went to get a drink of water and say hello to some people who were waiting to join in the class after the advanced class and I had missed Waiing off. Don’t. Ever. 
I heard Craig shout from the mats “Dom and Jonny… 50 burpees for missing Waiing off!!” I thought “shit!”
I haven’t ever missed Waiing off because it is a matter of respect you say thank you to the coach for taking the session but I was only off the mats for a few moments and had missed it. The 50 burpees was horrible. I mean really horrible. To link in earlier what I said about having my fight and debating whether I were actually even going to go to training because my arms were still sore from all the haymakers I were trying to throw. 
50 burpees was just what I needed to finish me off. I was a broken man. So much so I got home and had a cup of tea and got in bed. I was destroyed. 
On a different note I just want to talk about what it is I am hoping to do and eventually accomplish by writing about and partaking in Muay Thai. I am slowly beginning to resent my 9-5 job. Not to the point where I am wanting to quit but to the point where it is pushing me to try and achieve my goal of becoming a full-time writer/blogger/whatever it is I can do in the sport to pay my way. 
I’m not bothered about being rich. Nor am I bothered about being famous. It would be nice to have an income that would be able to let me have a mortgage, go on holiday two or three times a year and let me see the world but all the doesn’t bother me as long as I can get by, save a little each month and be happy. A life in Muay Thai could do that for me I think. 
With the sport growing in such a way that it is at the moment it would he nice to be on the forefront of its growth. To be able to spread the word to the masses about what this sport is all about and why so many people love it. 
There isn’t enough time right now for me to do that nor do I have the following to really make a difference… Yet. No dream is ever too big. I am a firm believer in that. If I intend to show my son that if he wants something he should go out and get it, I need to do that myself. 
I hope you can all bare with me while I get my feet on the ground here, build a solid foundation for which MTBUK and the sport can grow and then I can have the opportunity to give back to the community. 
Thank you for reading, head over the my social media pages, like them, follow them to keep up to date with what I am up to. Have a little exploration of the new structure of the site. I am going to look for a new theme that I can use to achieve what it is I want to achieve with MTBUK but that will take time. So for now I will be just building on what I have and where I can go from here. 
http://www.facebook.com/muaythaibloguk
http://www.twitter.com/muaythaibloguk
http://www.instagram.com/muaythaibloguk
Thanks for the continued support. Be true to yourself. Work hard, train hard and you will get to where you want to be. 
Thanks 

Dom – MTBUK

Leave a Reply

