Sparring and strength

Last night at training…
To say that I got beasted would be a massive understatement. I felt really good in the gym, surprisingly because I was only there twice last week and before that I had a couple of weeks off. I am in the process of writing all the content for the new site so that was my initial week off, getting the foundations laid for the new site… the second week off was due to my wife being ill. I needed to play the superhero and save her. 

Last week was a good couple of sessions, I was in on Monday and Thursday the two strength and conditioning days. I do like to try and get down for the strength and conditioning classes because I do like to lift weight and push myself that way rather than skipping that session and coming down just for Thai… Plus I finish work at 5 and by the time I have walked down to the gym it is time for the strength class to start. 

I was so sore last week and tired too! I was struggling to keep my breath as I hadn’t done anything in terms of fitness while I had been away from the gym in the previous two weeks. Lo and behold, in typical Dom fashion, I pushed myself too far too fast and was totally exhausted! It was a nasty fitness combo on the pads and I was ready to drop man!

This week has been much better, I have only done one session so far but last night was awesome! It was the sort of session where it relights the fire in you to begin to push yourself again. Its funny when you slip out of the routine of training it quickly becomes something that you begin to push to the back of your mind but then when you manage to pull your finger out of your arse and get back to the gym you begin to think to yourself “why was I off?!?”

Last night in strength and conditioning we worked on technique. Craig said that going forward once he gets back from Thailand he will be making a program to begin getting our one-rep max on each of the lift, which, to be honest, I am quite looking forward to because I have never actually managed to track my personal bests not to the point where I could actually manage it and try to better in week in week out. So that will be in the coming months which is good.

The actual session itself was going to be working on, dead lift, push-press, bench-press, back-squat, front-squat, the clean and possibly a couple more but I just can’t think of then right now. We only managed to get through bench, push, front and back squat, we still have to do dead lift and clean of which we will probably do on Thursday. It was a steady strength class go really as far as they go, we still had a workout from it but I wasn’t totally gassed which I guess set me up for the class after that. 

After the strength class we had a wicked Thai session, this is where the blog post really begins! I got to do the session with Craig as my partner which is always an experience. To begin with we worked on defending attacks and standing your ground. Something that with my weight, I have quite the advantage. We worked on a single shot at first, so one would defend, the other attack and it would be one for one. It would usually start off quite slow but then end up being really fast. I felt so fluid last night and it almost felt natural. When we began to link three shots Craig told me something.

I went to throw a combination and I stumbled and Craig gave me a good tip and it was “try not to plan what you are going to do. Try and see your next shot then take that.” Which makes perfect sense if you think about it. If I plan a one, two, hook but he would move back and then my right hand barely reaches and my hook would just miss completely. Whereas if I were to use the formula that Craig gave me, maybe I would do the right hand but do a leg kick instead and walk it in to then follow that up with a hook or something. 

I always try to take at least one thing away from every session I do and that will definitely be what I take away and use going forward. After the technical aspect of the session it was on to sparring. With me being paired up with Craig, naturally got to do a round with him which is always awesome! I accidentally cracked him in the knackers. I mean, it was a drain of the face and knocks you for sick sort of impact. He was out for the rest of that round and when it came to change, I thought I had got away with the punishment but when he said “everyone find a new partner… No… Not you!” I shit my pants a little bit. 

This round was an awesome round. Albeit tough, I had to think about everything. My movements, what Craig was doing, keeping my posture, relaxing and striking. After my round with Craig I swapped between a few of the people within the session but I was so tired by the end of it. I took a knee to the stomach off Craig and then a couple of the people from the group teeped me in exactly the same place and my stomach was totally knackered by the end. 

At the end of the session we worked on core strength. Core strength. Sit ups, crunches, leg raises, plank, side plank. Yes, I looked like I was having some sort of seizure. After the first couple exercises my core was totally shot but I had to push, I had to dig deep and make sure that I did as much as I could and then push a little further!! 

I was sore when I woke up this morning but being sore is the sign of a damn good session and a kind of session I look forward to doing more of in the future!! 

In other news, I am in the process of creating PunchLine Fights. A place where all combat sports will come together and thrive. MTBUK will still be around and I will still be blogging and documenting my experiences in Muay Thai. It may only be once or twice a month but there is a lot going on behind closed doors with PLF and I hope to begin putting the content out for you all!

Remember to head over Twitter, Facebook and other social media sites and give us a follow or like! Everyone of you guys that comment, favourite, like my content means so much!! So for that I thank you all!! 

http://www.facebook.com/muaythaibloguk

http://www.twitter.com/muaythaibloguk

Keep being awesome! Keep training hard and working hard to achieve your goals!!

Peace and love – Dom – MTBUK

Leave a Reply

