You can’t out train a bad diet.

The most important thing about training and keeping healthy is diet. I have quickly come to realise that if you don’t eat correctly the damage you are doing to your body is going to far surpass that of any exercise you may be doing to improve it. If you can eat healthily, consistently then you will reap the rewards from it, if you don’t, you won’t.

It’s a funny old world we live in. I really can’t understand why so many shit foods are easily accessed then where good, healthy foods aren’t. We live in a society where fast food, sugar, refined carbs and genetically modified foods reap havoc on our bodies and well-being. This is a time where we would rather pop to McDonalds and eat a burger and fries rather than try to find some locally sourced fruit and veg and nutrionally rich foods.

I have been the victim of the ‘modern day man’ for 25 years now. Eating shit day in day out, pizza, fizzy drinks, burgers, pasta, processed foods that are no good for us and that starve our bodies of the essential nutrients we need to do even the most basic of things. I have been watching documentaries and films about where food comes from and what to do if you feel as though it is time for change.

It is like smoking. Eating badly has just become part of our daily routines that when it comes time to change the ritual it becomes a struggle when it shouldn’t be. The reason we are now in the position we are is because 10,000 years ago when food was scarce we lived on a diet of leafy vegetables and the fruits that we could find. The odd bit of meat here and there when we managed to kill.

Our hunter gatherer instincts never left, we just got more access to the foods that our bodies needs and began to move less. Imagine this, you have just managed to kill a wild boar and you have just cooked it on the fire you made and shared it with your family. You don’t actually know when your next meal is going to be but to get it you have to travel for miles and miles, days and days without food to get it. Our bodies are trained to store the energy that is required for us to do this.

But now, when we have daily access to these foods on every corner, all we are doing are crippling ourselves because our bodies aren’t using as much energy to find the food, yet we are filling ourselves up as though there is a famine around the corner. Because our bodies have been trained to store the energy needed to go out and gather the food, that is why the society of today is suffering from diabetes, heart disease and obesity.

Our tastebuds were trained over time to enjoy the sweetness of sugar and the complexities of fatty foods, which is why we take such pleasure in eating everything that is on offer today but at the same time, the processed foods we are putting into our systems are nutritionally poor. They have no micronutrients in them because they have all been chemically changed to be made cheaper to make and to be addictive so we keep coming back for more.

I am holding my hands up and saying that I to am very guilty of doing this. Eating convenient  foods where I should be going out of my way to hunt and gather proper whole foods. I would love to be able to fight one day. To get in the ring and go to war with someone of an equal weight and ability but that will never happen until I sort out my eating habits.

I am writing this so I am actually holding myself accountable for the things I put into my body. It isn’t anyone elses fault that I am overweight, it isn’t anyone elses problem, only my own and to that I put my hands in the air and agree. But then why do I find it so difficult to change? Why is my brain so determined to go againast everything I know and carry on eating shit? I may know one day. Until then I guess I will manage to keep myself at a level pegging of 98kg.

Do you have any concerns about the foods of today? Are you like me and have fallen into a routine of damaging our internal systems? Do you have to cut a lot before a fight because you enjoy a food binge after it? Do you keep a regular healthy diet almost all the time?

Let us know in the comments below, I would love to hear your input!

http://www.facebook.com/muaythaibloguk http://www.twitter.com/muaythaibloguk http://www.instagram.com/muaythaibloguk

Leave a Reply

