The calm before the storm

Mondays session was canny. I got two hours in. One hour strength and conditioning and one hour Thai/K1. There were quite a few of us in the classes. I think with it being the beginning of the year people are wanting to get fit and lose the weight that they potentially put on over Christmas or want to make a change and generally get fit.

Because there were so many people in the class it was difficult to get everyone around the circuits that Craig had planned so he had to improvise to get us to be able to do it. To begin with we started with the usual warm up. Foam rolling to ease out the aches and pains of the day before, wall squats, roll over v-sits and spinal floss’s.

For the actual exercises we were doing 3x goblet squats with a weight that was suitable for you, which for me and Martin was a hefty 45kg, after that we had to do 5 jumping Squats followed by 5 weighted jumping squats and let me tell you, it wasn’t just a chain around the neck or even the 45kg dumbbell it was the other person on our backs.

I felt so sorry for Martin, he is a bit lighter than what I am, he is about 75kg and I am still at about 95kg!! Poor guy! So we had to do 5 weight squat jumps and then 5 assisted squat jumps where we helped our partners jump as high as possible. We had to do that three times round. The next one. The struggle.

This is all to work on our explosive power because it was slow down on the squat and high intensity on the rise to be able to make he jump or in the next exercise it was press ups. Slow on the way down but then explosive on the way up and you had to raise your hands to your shoulders. I didn’t do too well on this one. I struggled with it. 5 explosive press-ups, 5 resisted press-ups and 5 assisted press-ups.I struggle with upper body exercises, I don’t know why, probably because I haven’t ever done anything really strenuous on my top half like weight lifting or anything like that.

After we did that, we did a bit of fun stuff, we worked on head stands and hand stands to help us be able to engage our core and make it support us. Funnily enough, that sort of stuff I am quite good at, I enjoy that sort of stuff. Not that I could actually do it because I had totally lost all my strength in my arms because of the previous exercises! I did try and do them, hold them for as long as I could. If I was fresh I would have been able to do it no problem. I also got the opportunity to showcase my one handed cartwheel! We got talking about the Matrix being on the night before and how much a loved the scene where Neo does the one handed cartwheel and that I taught myself how to do one when I was younger purely because of that scene.

After that the Thai class started. It was a good session, albeit really busy, we could barely move for people being there, I love it!! Mondays are by far, my favourite class of the week. We worked on our boxing and footwork this week. We were partnered up and given ‘lanes’  on the mats. We worked on moving forward with boxing, jab, cross, faking the jab cross, then putting a kick or knee on the end of it depending on how far away your partner had moved.

Making sure while doing these drills we were keeping our footwork clean and well thought about. When we stepped forward we would have to make sure that both of our feet moved and we were able to keep ourselves centered.

After that it was fitness for one side of the class and sparring for the other side of the class. A month or two ago I would have probably been in the side of the class that did fitness but I wasn’t! I got to do some sparring. It was still a bit squashed in the ring but it was awesome. I love being able to push myself to my limits and sparring makes me able to do that. After the first round I am tired but I still have to engage my brain to think about what it is I am doing, where my feet are, what my hands are doing. Calculating what my options are and acting on them. We got four rounds in, I did two with Liam, one with titler and one with ruairi. It was class!

I have decided to take the rest of the week off training in preparation for this weekend. It is the interclub coming up in Leeds and I wanted to rest my shins and foot. Both of which if I train my normal 4/5 days a week I am in quite a lot of pain by the end of the week. So I have been resting this week. I am looking forward to this weekend. I feel as though I have improved quite a lot since my last interclub, it will be good to see what the other people from other clubs are doing too. It seems to be quite a big one, there are competitive and non-competitive bouts on Saturday so it will be good to see some showcased talents around the area.

I will be videoing some fights, getting some pictures and stuff so I will be posting a blog about it when it is over. I know I have touched upon this in my previous post but it still stands. I am in the process of building a new site, it is taking longer than I had anticipated. Getting all the writing done and all of the site designed as well as other things sorted too.

Time is all I need, time and effort. As is mentioned in Shawshank redemption, which for the record is an awesome film, you have to either get busy living or get busy dying. I am living! I can’t imagine my life being any different at the minute! It feels great!

Remember where else you can find us here at MTBUK… Twitter Facebook and Instagram. I keep these updated pretty regularly. So head on over and give us a like/follow and I will give you a shout :).

http://www.twitter.com/muaythaibloguk
http://www.facebook.com/muaythaibloguk
http://www.instagram.com/muaythaibloguk

Thanks again for reading! Watch this space, some great things coming, eventually ha ha.

Peace!

Leave a Reply

