Finally beginning to feel a difference!

I am really beginning to feel a progression in my training. I am getting to the point now where I feel comfortable with the basics of Muay Thai.

The stance, the teep, body kicks, leg kicks and my boxing are all areas I am beginning to a bit more feel confident. The hardest thing for me at the minute is thinking about what I am doing, keeping my composure and not flapping.

Calculating my movements, concentrating on my footwork, making sure the strikes I use are accurate and precise. This is something that I got told will come with time. Tom said something that I believe rings true but can’t happen.

I was talking to him about the sparring that we had been doing, he was doing awesome, with it being a K1 class we were working on combinations, Craig wasn’t fussed what combinations they were as long as they were over three strikes. We were in our partners going one for one but fast, as soon as one combo was finished the partner was getting their strikes in.

It was awesome! This is what has triggered me thinking about the precision and how important it is. After the class had finished we (me and tom)  were talking about the session and how he felt. He is quite critical of himself. I told him he needs to believe in himself more, he has talent, of which, with time will only get better and better. I had said something kind of like that, it takes time or something and he said in reply, but we all want it to happen overnight.

In some cases we do, it would be awesome if we could all become champions off one days training but then would that take away what it takes to get wherever it is you are wanting to go or do? The heart ache, the pain, the sheer punishment it takes to power through those horrific training sessions. That is what I love about Muay Thai.

You have to push yourself further than you ever thought you could. Be a person that goes beyond what you think your body is capable of. Finding something deep inside you to push yourself that extra bit further! I love it! I have thought about this a lot recently. How now I am training in Muay Thai, it influences my day to day choices. How I want to better myself and get to reach that goal whatever it may be!

I’m on a bit of a deep train of thought here, kind of getting carried away with my thinking but it’s true. How finding something that means a lot to you, family, friends or a hobby, how it adds value to everything else!

So all in all it has been a good Monday training session. Remember to head over to twitter, Facebook and instagram to keep up to date. I will hopefully be having a shift around of the website again this weekend to get it looking a bit more professional.

http://www.facebook.com/muaythaibloguk
http://www.twitter.com/muaythaibloguk
http://www.instagram.com/muaythaibloguk

Thanks for keeping on reading, I wouldn’t be posting on here if it wasn’t for the continued support I get with the site. So thank you!

Peace out for tonight! Dom – MTBUK!

Leave a Reply

