A little about me here at MTBUK

Hi there!!

This is going to be my documentation of my experiences while endeavouring down the path of a Muay Thai fighter.

I will be writing about my training sessions, what we covered, the exercises we did, the drills we did, warm ups, stretches, sparring and also nutrition and what I do on my days off training to relax.

I will try to get pictures during the training sessions, or ask someone to take photos while we are doing it. If I struggle it will just be writing.

If I get to any shows and fights I will be writing reviews of the fighters and the different bouts that occur during the evening.

I will tell you a little bit about who I am. My name is Dominic Platt. I am 23 and have been training for around 5 months. The one thing I can say about Muay Thai is that it has totally changed my life!! When I started I was weighing around 100kg standing at around 5″10.

I train in a gym called Northern Kings which is in Newcastle city centre. The head coach and owner of the gym is called Craig Jose. During his career he has fought around the world and gained some very reputable titles. He is UK No.2 at 70 Kg (UKMF) and has had 55 professional fights, 18 years fighting experience.

He and all the crew are all people I am very pleased to have come into contact with. As soon as I walked into the gym I was made to feel like one of the family! After my first session, that was if!! I had officially caught the Muay Thai bug! I have been there pretty consistently since then!

Well that’s it for now. Hopefully I will begin to get to upload photos and videos and keep you updated in what I get up to at the gym. If you have any questions for me regarding anything to do with Muay Thai just give me a shout. I would love to hear from you and if I don’t know the answer to your question I will be sure to find it out.

I hope my enthusiasm begins to inspire other people who is thinking about possibly getting into the sport to take the step and do so!! So I will sit off for now, thank you for reading. Peace!! Below is a picture of everyone at our gym.10653801_362576373891566_9086861144524187162_n

Leave a Reply

