Today we got to punch each other in the face!

Tonight training session was awesome! The first time in quite a long time where we managed to get a decent amount of sparring in! Before I divulge into tonights class I have a few things to brush over first.

I am going to be logging my meals so I know what I have been eating throughout my competition that I am having within the gym.

Breakfast wasn’t fantastic, while I was at home I had my morning green shake which had avocado, banana, Apple, cucumber, kale, spinach, watercress, a squeezed orange and a kiwi, it was probably one of the nicest ones I have made to date! I was running late for work so didn’t manage to get breakfast while at home, I picked up a breakfast wrap in sainsburys (I know, I know! Horrifically unhealthy!), for my 10 I clock snack I had carrot with houmous. Lunch was a spinach, watercress and rocket salad, with beetroot,Chicken, cucumber, pine nuts, tomatoes and a olive oil and squeezed lemon as a dressing. I had half of that for my 12 o clock lunch, with a protein shake and a spoon on cashew nut butter (which is totally spectacularly amazing!), then the same again at 3pm just a smaller portion. At 5 o clock I then had two bananas before I got to the gym and I’m not to sure if i will have anything when I get in. We will see.

I also have an announcement! I have another interclub coming up in 3 weeks! It is down in Leeds at a gym called The Bad Company Gym! It is a highly respected gym in the area, there have been some very good fighters come out of the gym! There are two that spring to mind, one being Yokkao world title contender Liam Harrison! And also the Yokkao world champion Jordan Watson! I am so pumped for it! It should be a wicked experience going down and seeing things down there!

The training tonight was a wicked session! We managed to get a decent amount of sparring in, which is totally wicked. I love a bit of sparring. At first, we was drilling with one attack, it could have been any attack, punch, kick, knee, anything. We did this one for one. Making sure we were using our fakes and feints, taking as long as we needed to ensure that the strike would land. After that it was one of my favourite sentences within the gym… “Gum shields in!”

We then began the 20 minute sparring session. It’s funny, because I remember when I first started doing Muay Thai, when we were doing sparring I was so tense! It tired me out so quickly, I got so gassed that I just couldn’t go on and I began to psych myself out telling myself “I’m not going to be able to do this,” or “I can’t keep on going!”

What I realised this weekend is that I was a lot more relaxed. So much so that I was trying to think about each strike I was doing. Granted this was a sparring session with a group of my friends and training partners, it might be a little different with a stranger in a different city. Every time I go into the gym I learn something different. Take something new from the experience!

I listened to a podcast this morning by Sean Fagan with a guy who was talking all about the spiritual side of training and about how becoming a yoga instructor helped him with his training and becoming a trainer. I love listening to that sort of stuff, learning about how quieting your mind to a place where you can think about what you are doing, learn from your mistakes and in turn become a better person, or Muay Thai fighter!

Granted I am a long way off from becoming a fighter but it is one of my longer term goals of training. Having at least one fight and I will feel as though I have achieved something I never thought I could! To be fair, Muay Thai has opened up so many things for me, this blog, the people, Twitter, facebook, training, events… All things I never thought or seen myself doing even this time a year ago.

Not to get all nostalgic and soppy on you all, I’m just very thankful for the opportunity to be able to be here, do the things I do. In time, hopefully it will become something more.

Well that’s it for today’s blog. Remember to head over to Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and shot us a like if you are a fan and want to keep up to date with what we are all up to.

http://www.facebook.com/muaythaibloguk
http://www.twitter.com/muaythaibloguk
http://www.instagram.com/muaythaibloguk

Thank again for reading.

Leave a Reply

