I felt totally exposed today!!

It has been an interesting experience today. I got my body fat measured using the Poliquin Bio-Signature. I have entered a competition with the gym I go to called “NK Biggest Fattest loser.” Now as you all know, I am on a mission to get some of this excess weight shifted.

What better way to do it than take part in a fat losing competition among my peers! So basically, the way that it works is that we get the percentage of our body fat taken today. This is done using the Poliquin Bio-Signature method using callipers. I was totally dreading it, I only took it upon myself to do some research on what it actually was that we were doing and safe to say… I shit my pants!!

The other night me and my wife decided to take ourselves off and go on an adventure somewhere, just go to the train station and pick somewhere off the board. You are probably wondering why I am telling you this. Well we were running around this morning packing stuff up in the bag for the overnight stay in wherever we were going to go. Which meant that I forgot to pack some bloody shorts!!

Now when I got on the train to Newcastle to get to the gym, Amy (my wife) asked me, “Dom, did you not pack any shorts? How you going to get your reading taken?” Instant panic set in!! My brain went into overdrive thinking shit shit shit!! I was totally thinking that my body fat was going to be above 30% but when it came to the crunch, I was quite happy with the reading that came out!!

The reading itself was an interesting experience. Kat, who took the all the measurements was awesome, she was really informative and stuff and gave us good feedback and told us what we should be working on. So when I was getting my readings taken, without bloody shorts on she had to get to my knees, my quads and thighs… It was, try and shimmy my jeans up far enough or just drop them… I came to the conclusion that I would probably look like less of a knob if I just stripped down.

So picture this, I was stood there, no top on, my jeans round my ankles and Kat was there with the callipers inspecting every jiggly bit of my body. I felt totally on show!! I have never felt so exposed in my entire life, granted it was only me and Kat in the changing rooms but I can safely say, I will be taking shirts next time!!

So the reading itself came out to be 25% body fat, which means, of the 96.5kg that I am, 72.5kg of that is lean mass. The areas that require the most attention are my pectorals, umbilicals and my quadriceps. What Kat told me is that I need to eat more often. Which I know is right, try to keep my metabolism up throughout the day. That should keep my fat loss active if I keep drinking the right amounts of water and stuff obviously pair that with the exercise that will be done in and out of the gym. I am going to start running again to up my cardio and endurance and be in the gym 4 time a week.

We should hopefully get a reading again in a few weeks time which would be a pretty cool help, get a midway reading so we know what progress we have made and where we still need to work on. I hope I begin to see some changes within my composition which I am sure I will but it is all a work in progress. All working towards one goal… Being able to get in the ring and punch someone in the face!

I am excited for this year, there is a lot of promising things that I am expecting out of 2015! This is it for now, I have rambled on enough for today, I will be back in the gym on Monday! So I will have another blog post up for you on Monday night.

Peace to all and I will see you on the flip side…

Again remember to head over to twitter and follow us at http://www.twitter.com/muaythaibloguk and then on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/muaythaibloguk you can also find us on instagram on http://www.instagram.com/muaythaibloguk

Thanks for the continues support and carrying on reading my blog!

Dom – MTBUK

2 thoughts on “I felt totally exposed today!!

  1. Hey Dom, good to hear you are serious about doing this. Entering that comp sounds like it will be awesome for you and I’m sure you will do great in it.
    In terms of forgetting shorts, I know what you mean. I did a similar thing going for a full body massage in jeans. So stripping down is how it had to be. But soon you will probably have no problem with that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Vince, thanks for the comment! You are the first ever person to post a comment on one of my posts so thank you :). I’m sure it will push me in the right direction, even if I get to lose like 2 or 3% body fat, I would be happy with that. Ideally would like to get it down to about 18-20%. I don’t have the expectation for it to happen within the 8 weeks of the competition but hopefully will be this year! I’m sure if you keep a track of the blog you will be kept up to date with the progress :). Take care buddy, thanks again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

