The beginning of “Mission Lodge”

I don’t even really know where to start with this one really… it was the first session back training today and mission lodge has officially began!

There is a story behind mission lodge so I will explain as it will become something of a focus of mine over the course of the next few months. in about October/November time I had acquired the nickname ‘Podge’ because of my big bones and thick set. basically, I’m fat ha ha.

Something I embrace and hold my hands up to. Something I have wrote about in previous blogs, I am sure! So whenever I needed motivating when doing a session with Craig he would always play the Podge card…

“C’mon Podge” he would say “Can’t slack now Podge!”

It did actually work, so Podge was my name… towards the end of the year I was commenting on something via Facebook or some other social media site and I had made a typo… I can’t remember it word for word but it mentioned Lodge instead of Podge.

So by Lodge it means lean podge, Lodge! I love it ha ha! So now that the new year is here and I am on a mission to get the excess weight shifted so I can begin to compete! So “Mission Lodge” has began!

All the lads now are in a position where they are getting fights lined up and a little bit of me is quite jealous because it is something that I really want to be able to do.

To be honest I aren’t in any rush to do so, I want to be ready both mentally and physically. Which I am sure I will be in time. What I keep reminding myself is, I have only been training for 8 months so not long at all really! Muay Thai has quickly become a massive part of my life!

Training tonight! Wow! To say it hurts would be a fucking massive understatement! I haven’t really trained properly since the end of November so it has been like a full month since I’ve had to really push myself! I have ate awfully, not exercised at all and just generally been quite lazy which is why the blog kind of took a back seat too and i am now weighing in at 97kg!

The training session though, we had two sessions tonight, strength and conditioning and also a Thai/K1 class. The S&C was more of a technique based class working on technique on basic exercises like goblet squats, press ups, dislocates, pull a parts, wall squats etc but it was still really challenging! We did 10 sets of three exercises, goblet squat, push up and jumping lunges but each set would decrease in a number it went 10, 9, 8, 7, 6 and so on and so on with no rest.

Because it was the first session back it was really busy! One of the lads said give it a few weeks, there will only be 5 or 6 of us here, which is true, everyone is on a buzz at the moment to get back into training and i am sure it will soon pass for some but for me it will only kick into a higher gear!

After S&C it was the Thai/K1 session which I have been looking forward to! Since the first 10mins of the S&C sessions beginning I soon became very apprehensive because I was totally knackered but I managed to power through!

In the session we started on working on the overhand right as a slip from a jab! So we paired up, and got working on slipping the jab and returning with the overhand right then the left body as the first drill, then it was taking a step back then returning with the overhand and the left body again. After that we added kicks in.

So as our partner would jab we would do a right body kick followed by a left hook to the head. We drilled that for a few rounds and then went on to spar what it was that we had covered in the class. So we did one for one, but would mix it up by doing either the slip overhand right, left body shot or the right kick and then the left hook to the head.

We did that for about 15mins changing every 3mins. As an added extra we had to add a boxing combination on the end of whatever we did to put the K1 spin on it. It wasn’t to hurt our partner but to show that the work rate was up.

In the final 15mins of the classes the dreaded word got called out by Craig. “FITNESS!!!!” Uh oh!! Fitness!

So for this we had to do 20 squats, 20 squat jumps and 20 seconds isometric squat hold. Absolutely bloody horrendous! I was one of the last ones to finish but I was proud of the fact that I didn’t skip anything or didn’t miss any out. I made a point of following everything I was given through to the end!!

It felt good to be back in the gym! I am looking forward to being back in a good routine and getting into some sort of fit shape!

Remember where you can find me here at Muay Thai Blog UK!

Facebook – www.facebook.com/muaythaibloguk
Twitter – www.twitter.com/muaythaibloguk
Instagram – www.instagram.com/muaythaibloguk
Redbubble – www.redbubble.com/muaythaibloguk

Head on over to twitter and give me a follow and say Hello 🙂 go over to Facebook and give us a like and say Hi! Instagram is being updated pretty regularly so head on over and keep up to date with pictures like the featured picture on this post is something that I made myself!

Thanks for reading everyone, it means so much for the support I keep getting here at Muay Thai Blog UK. It really means so much! Hopefully I can bring you something that you find entertaining!

Peace and love and all the best for the coming weeks in 2015! Dom from MTBUK

Leave a Reply

