Today’s Interclub was ace!!!

Yo yo!!! It’s Dom here from MTBUK!

Hows it going? Today’s interclub was totally amazing! It was such a wicked experience I don’t really have words to describe how it felt being in the ring but I will give it a shot!

First martin was on, he did so well. When i first began sparring, I did a few rounds with him and he was quite heavy handed, which was quite the eye opener for me! He did well in his round though! It was good that it was non-competative, that kind of put my mind at ease really. He was the first of us to go up out of the group of people that went with us from Northern Kings.

I was second to go up. I thought I had longer than I did but I had just got changed and finished wrapping my hands and then my name was called. they must have had a shuffle of the running sequence. Either way, I think it was a good thing because i didn’t really have time to psych myself out. I was totally nervous, I had been up and down all night last night because I was thinking about it quite a lot. When I got in the ring it kind of felt natural. All of the nerves went away and the adrenaline kicked in! Everything else in the room disappeared and all I could think about it was what was in front of me.

I think I did pretty well to say it was my first experience in the ring. It started quite slow, the guy who I was sparring with was a little taller than me and had a really mean old teep! Using both his back leg and his front leg. I got a little video that my wife recorded but she was quite far away and didn’t turn the phone on the side so it isn’t fantastic quality. By the end of the rounds we were going quite heavily. It wasn’t full 3 minute rounds, we did five 1 minute rounds which was just right for me and the level i am at currently.

I took a few heavy shots but I like to think I gave a few back. I managed to somewhat use my kicks to my advantage. I do have a lot to learn, that is a fact. Mainly on my defences!

The other lads did so well too! I was a proud team mate! I have got some videos that I am currently uploading to YouTube so I will put the link into my next blog when I manage to get them up because they are taking an absolute lifetime to do so!

The other lads utilised other skills needed in Muay Thai, some of the lads used the clinch a bit more whereas I was quite distant and used boxing and kicking. Andrew in particular was good in the clinch! That was good to watch. I guess a big part of getting in the ring is listening to your corner, it’s hard when you are concentrating so much on what you are doing and what your opponent is doing.

I love it! There really isn’t a feeling like it. Like I said, I will post the videos on here so you can see them all, let me know what you think of them :).

Finally I just want to let you know, the blog has had a lot of views and attention over the past 48 hours. I have doubled my views and subscribers. I have now made a YouTube channel to which I am uploading the videos, and the Twitter and Facebook I am using now too! Something crazy happened last night too! The Muay Thai equipment provider Sandee wrote to me on twitter and asked me if I might like to, one some point, like to write a guest blog post for them! WHAT!!! SANDEE, asking ME to write a post for them! I was totally Flabbergasted (love that word)!! Here is a link to their website, have a look at the stuff they can do for you, they stock all sorts of things you would need in your Muay Thai journey from gloves, shin pads, thai pads, bags, wraps you name it!! All very high quality products, all the items I use are made by Sandee.

Head on over to the pages, give them a like, follow, subscribing to. I will be updating each of the pages regularly with new content, trying to keep it fresh and stuff. I am in the process of creating a website so I have a decent place to share the blogs and let people share their thoughts and feelings with me too!

Thank you for all the support I’ve had so far! It means so much, again, if you ever have any questions, just give me a shout and I will reply as soon as I can!! Thank you again! Take care and I will be posting again very soon!

Peace! Dom – Muay Thai Blog UK

Leave a Reply

